Saint Erasmus, located on Messina Marine Street, used to be a railway depot. Inaugurated in 1886, it is now an elegant warehouse with a unique and precious structure made of cast iron, covered by a quadruple pitched roof with skylights. The indoor space amounts to 1400 m2. There are also outdoor spaces that overlook the Oreto estuary and the sea. The complex belongs to Palermo’s Town Council, which restored it in 2004.
This is the main site of the multi-sited ecomuseum. It narrates The stories of sea, city and communty and offers both indoor and outdoor spaces for workshops, meetings and small conferences.
THE ROYAL ARSENAL
The Royal Arsenal was built in 1621-1630 following the project of Palermo-born architect Mariano Smiriglio. It is located between the city’s port and its shipyards, and is managed by the Sea Superintendence. On the ground floor there are six arches that used to reach the atrium to the back of the complex, where the boats were built. Today it hosts a small museum of the sea that collects historical heirlooms. The upper floor is separated from the ground floor by a framework that used to support the gallery, where six large windows with classical niches are found. High up on the façade there is a big Bourbon emblem, the eagle head. This is the oldest and richest monument testifying Palermo’s maritime history.
Here the ecomuseum tells The stories of seamen, port and shipyards. The ample space on the first floor, where the ecomuseum is located, can host conferences and temporary exhibitions.